Skip to main content

RECAP: Ohio State’s National Championship Win Over Oregon

In what was a closely contested game early on, the Ohio State Buckeyes ran away with the first National Championship of the NCAA College Football Playoff era Monday night, defeating the Oregon Ducks 42-20. Ohio State won the National Championship despite losing their first two starting quarterbacks to injury. Third-string QB Cardale Jones for went 16-for-23 for 242 yards in OSU’s win. Oregon QB Marcus Mariota won the Heisman Trophy.
Ohio State was the final No. 4 seed coming into the four team playoff, having not been ranked in the top 4 all season leading up the final rankings.The win is OSU’s 6th title since the poll era began in 1936.OSU head coach Urban Meyer is now just the second coach (during championship era) to win a title at two different schools (two at Florida). He matches Nick Saban as the only other active coach that has 3 championships to his resume.
Meyer has won 38 of 41 games at Ohio State.Sophomore OSU running back Ezekiel Elliott finished with 696 yards rushing in his final three games, with 246 yards and 4 TDs Monday night. Elliott is the 1st player in school history with 3 straight 200-yd rushing games.Elliott finished the season with 1,878 yards, the second-most in any season in Ohio State history. Only Eddie George had more – 1,927 en route to the 1995 Heisman Trophy.Oregon converted 2-of-12 third down conversions and scored just 1 TD on four red zone appearances; they allowed 42 points in the game — all were season lows.
Oregon dropped three passes Monday, its most in a game this season. All three of the Ducks’ drops were on third down; they had five drops on third down coming into the game this season.Marcus Mariota is the sixth Heisman winners to lose in the national championship game, the last three of which came at the hands of an Urban Meyer-coached opponent.Marcus Mariota had a season-low 4.9 third-down Total QBR. Entering Monday, Mariota ranked 2nd in the FBS with a 91.9 third-down Total QBR.

This is Oregon’s 2nd national championship loss in four years. They lost in 2010 to Auburn.Oregon has never won a national title. Ohio State is 9-0 against Oregon, its best record against any school in program history.Ohio State joins Alabama, Notre Dame, USC, and Oklahoma as the only schools with six national titles.

Popular posts from this blog

Legendary Rock Icon & KISS Frontman Gene Simmons Wants You To Open For Him At Wizard World St.Louis

It's the chance of a lifetime for musicians all across Greater St. Louis, as famed Rock and Roll Hall of Famer Gene Simmons and Wizard World seek an outstanding local band to open for "Wizard World: An Evening with Gene Simmons and His Band," Saturday, April 8, beginning at 7 p.m. The concert will take place at The Pageant (6161 Delmar Blvd., St. Louis), and will be held in conjunction with Wizard World Comic Con St. Louis taking place that weekend at America's Center.

Area bands must submit video links to, specifying "St. Louis Opening Act" in the subject line, by April 3 for consideration. Simmons will select one group from among the entrants to perform before his show on April 8.

The winner will be announced live on the KSHE radio station by Gene at 2:30 p.m. CT on April 7, the day before the show, and notified by email and/or telephone. The winner will also be posted on the Pageant website and on social media channels.

The winni…

Win Tickets To Louisville's Louder Than Life Music Festival !

“Louisville: The Home Of Bourbon.
Great People. Great Food.”

The fourth annual LOUDER THAN LIFE, kicks off September 30, 2017 at Champions Park near downtown Louisville. The annual destination festival celebrates the region’s culture and cuisine, and features award-winning bourbons and spirits, Gourmet Man Food, craft beer and some of the biggest names in rock music.General admission and VIP tickets, as well as hotel and camping packages, are on sale at starting noon on May 29, 2017.
Enter for your chance to win tickets to the Fall's most anticipated Hard Rock music festival."
We here at WITIN RADIO, know you don’t want to miss this year's Louder Than Life Music Festival, so we’re proud to offer you a chance to win a free pair of tickets to the 2017 Louder Than Life Festival , Courtesy of  WITIN RADIO and; Danny Wimmer Productions.
To enter, simply use the comment space ( Leave Full Name &  E-mail) below or e-mail (Walter@WitinRadio.Com) be…

Exclusive Interview: 804 Street Media CEO Lance Cooper

Last week, the staff of WITIN RADIO had the opportunity to meet with 804 Street Media CEO & Editor In Chief , Lance Cooper.During the interview we had the opportunity to speak with Lance on his life's work, his company's Social Media presence, and the state of Black America.

When did you launch 804 Street Media & what was the catalyst for you launching 804 Street Media ?

"The official brand evolved into a business around 2013, but the grind to put the 804 (Richmond. Virginia) on the map started back in the 1990’s. Everything started with hip-hop. In 1997 I had a rap group here in Richmond. Virginia was on the rise, we were actually the only rap group from Richmond to share a stage with Nas. This was around the time "It Was Written" dropped. Eventually, however the group parted ways. I put the microphone down and started promoting other artists. Coming from one of  the hardest places to "get on" from is Virginia, because support on every level…